Good Readin’ #1 – Bad Machinery

Bad Machinery

The handiwork of eternal English cartoonist and consummate gentleman John Allison, Bad Machinery is a tweenaged magical-mystery series in the vein of The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, with perhaps a dash of Archie thrown in for added romantic-comical flavour.

Allison’s third webcomic series, Bad Machinery follows an ensemble cast of secondary students as they observe, inquire into, and inevitably meddle with the inexplicable goings-on in and around their school, city, and county. Such as cursed football clubs, magical pencils, bizarre dog-like creatures, serial arsonists, and ogres. The usual, really.

Principally character-driven and effortlessly wry, Bad Machinery is a perpetual joy to read. Allison’s well-crafted characters, charming dialogue, casual wordplay, and sharp line-work are near-guaranteed to tickle one’s fancy, and his expansive archives—featuring a decade’s worth of Bobbins and Scary Go Round stories as prequel—is certain to keep new readers well-occupied for some time.

Fan Art: Ryan Beckwith and his better half, Amy Beckwith-Chilton, are two of Allison’s illustrated stalwarts, as they and their erstwhile-unknown and/or -unrequited affections have been present from Bobbins all the way through to Bad Machinery. Presently, the Beckwiths play the supporting roles of affable schoolteacher and sly dealer of antiquities, respectively.

http://www.scarygoround.com/

Advertisements

One response to “Good Readin’ #1 – Bad Machinery

  1. Pingback: Good Readin’ #1 – Bad Machinery (via Bear Lawyer, LLC) « with a hint of nonsense

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s